Knights of Sidonia Ep. 1-5 – First Impression

I came across the trailer for a new anime, Knights of Sidonia, that was being shown exclusively on Netflix. Here is that trailer:

 

And here is the official synopsis:

“The story follows the struggle of human survival amongst the monstrous shapeshifting aliens “Gauna” who all but destroyed the solar system a millennia ago and are bent on eliminating humans from existence.

Nagate Tanikaze, a low-born youth in a society of genetically engineered humans – now refugees that escaped the destruction of Earth one thousand years earlier, occupying the massive ship Sidonia. Nagate grew up living in the bottom layers of Sidonia away from civilization and raised by his now deceased grandfather. When Nagate’s talent as a pilot is revealed he becomes one of Sidonia’s elite defenders against the Guana.

 

From the trailer itself, I found myself pretty open minded. Mecha space-travel sci-fi type anime is sort of a 50-50 for me personally. I’ve had some of my favorites crop up out of this genre and have also been sorely disappointed.

Now I didn’t just watch the first episode to give y’all my opinion. I watched episodes 1-5, and I will admit that I didn’t do that entirely out of discipline. It got me!

Episode one was a little slow for my tastes, but after that you get introduced to the type of environment that the humans live in, how they survive, their societal structure, and many other things. Some of it is run of the mill, but then some of it is new and quite interesting. The depth of the characters grow as you move through the episodes. You learn as you go with this story, and that’s the way I like it. I don’t want the whole ton of information to be dropped on my head in the first or even second episode!

You’ll also find that in terms of storyline, this anime is not wishy-washy. I’d say it’s somewhere in between the tragic disturbance that is Attack on Titan and the sweet youthful interactions and typical cold shoulders you’d find in say.. Gundam Seed.

The animation is on it’s own playing field. It’s not ordinary anime drawing style. Instead, it’s more digitally fluid in terms of movement. This made me sort of have to pay very close attention to facial expression as they weren’t as blatantly obvious as in other anime. It also makes it seem as if the character’s movement is a little sluggish. This did bug me at first, but I didn’t really notice it as I continued to watch the episodes. Perhaps I got used to it?

Yes, we’ll go with that. Why? Because after you get used to the fluidity of the animation, you realize how beautiful it is and how suitable it is for scenes of space combat!

Let’s just say that I am impressed by this anime thus far. Netflix has 12 episodes total to watch, and I’m really hoping that isn’t the total count. I’d like to see at least 25 episodes. The storyline is certainly worth that and more.

Needless to say, I’ll be watching the rest of Knights of Sidonia. Afterward, I’ll do a follow-up post and let everyone know what I thought.

So far, so good!

Britney

14618

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Knights of Sidonia Ep. 1-5 – First Impression

  1. After watching the trailer I really get that gundam feel from it. I’ve been on a bit of a break from anime and just reading manga, but if the mood hits me I’ll be sure to give the first 5 episodes a try as you did. For now I’ll just add it to my Netflix queue.

    • It gave me that impression too, but it’s really more them fighting these weird shapeshifting aliens than each other like most other gundam anime. It’s been interesting so far! So yeah, if you get that urge, check it out.

      – Britney

      • Hey Britney, I got a chance to watch the entire series on Netflix. It was pretty good. I thought of doing a review of it after, but after thinking about it I changed my mind and decided I’d much prefer share yours ad it covers all the bases. Oh and I’m sure there may be a season 2 because there is no way they can end it like that.

      • Hey! I’m glad you liked it. It gets a little strange, but I’d rather an anime get a little weird than just be ordinary and boring. There definitely has to be a second season. I don’t think it would end like that. Maybe they want to see how the first season is received first. 🙂

        – Britney

Leave a Reply

