Beauty on a Budget

I decided last week that I would break my habit of purchasing the more expensive make-up brands for the smaller tools of my make-up routine. After browsing the web and asking my fellow co-bloggers for advice, I stopped by Walgreens to try the following make-up.

Revlon

WP_20140608_049

I’m using Revlon’s Photoready Concealer per Kelly’s suggestion, and I love it. The container, as you can see, lets you apply it like lipstick. You don’t need to use a lot, nor do you use too much since it’s not liquid. All you need to do to finish is use your finger to even it out. The coverage is smooth enough so that it doesn’t gather in your crinkles (not wrinkles!), but it does last all day and evening without having to reapply.

I was on the prowl for new liquid eyeliner too. I did use Estee Lauder’s in the past, but in order to save a few bucks I decided to test Revlon’s Skinny Liquid Liner. I haven’t had good experiences with other inexpensive liners, but this one wins my stamp of approval. It has a super thin applicator tip that allows for very fine lines, and after the first full day and night it stayed in place. It will smear if you get it wet and then rub it, but it won’t run simply from being wet. It lasted through a full day’s worth of my worst allergies, so it’s good stuff.

Retail Prices (Walgreens):

Revlon Photoready Concealer:  $10.79

Revlon Colorstay Skinny Liquid Liner:  $7.99

 

Milani

WP_20140608_050

For as long as I can remember, I’ve felt the need the fill out my brows. I’m a natural dark blonde and so my eyebrows are sparse and fairly light. I think that nicely shaped full brows are what make a face, so to speak. Now I’ve always used a fine tipped pencil, but I’ve heard a lot of women say they use brow powder and/or gel.

Hence my recent purchase of Milani’s Brow Fix Kit and Brow Tint Pen. First I’d like to say that Milani’s Brow Fix Kit is a little bundle of awesome. It has three hues of powder. One hue is for highlighting, and the other two fill the brows. A magnified mirror and three tools come within as well: Angled brush, sponge tip, and teeny tweezers. You might think this is overkill, and normally I never use the miniature tools in these silly little kits. With this one, I do! I tweeze away the randoms, highlight with sponge tip, and fill with the angled brush all while using that nifty built in mirror. As for quality of the make-up, the powders really cling to the skin well and I don’t have to reapply during the day.

For a really defined look, I also purchased Milani’s Brow Tint Pen. This pen has a super tiny tip that allows you to get a more defined yet natural look. It really helps with the areas of my brow that are sparse as the tiny marks it leaves looks just like tiny hairs. The gel also helps the powder stick better and helps the whole look last longer. Good for a night out on the town!

Retail Prices (Walgreens):

Milani Brow Fix Brow Kit:  $6.79

Milani Brow Tint Pen:  $6.49

 

Let me know if you have any suggestions for good quality inexpensive make-up products!

Britney

14618

Leave a Reply

