Geeks & Fitness

2408blk-w800h800z1-22722-workin-my-puff-into-tuff

Most people who tend to identify themselves as geeks are usually one or more of the following:

Video Gamers, Readers, Card/Table Top Gamers, Movie/Show Junkies, Artists

Anyone else notice how sedentary these hobbies are? Is anyone else frustrated with the choice of enjoying your favorite hobbies vs. going to exercise? Well, I am!

I grew up running around like a wild child, but as video games caught my interest I became more sedentary and gained weight. I was chubby through middle school, but started to slim down in high school due to marching band. Exit high school and enter the real world of bills, work, cheap fast food, a slowing metabolism, and stress. Suddenly my hobbies became my enemy. I sit to play video games, I sit to browse the web, and I sit to read.

So despite being on my feet all day with my past and current job, it’s been really difficult to maintain a healthy weight. It’s a balancing act to decide how to utilize the time and energy that I have after work. Cleaning, laundry, hobbies, exercise, ect.

And not only is it a matter of balancing, but then there is a conflict of motivation. If I just bought a new book, why in the world would I want to leave it inside while I go outside to exercise?!

Alas, I’ve come up with an experiment that may resolve this. What if we rewire our brain to think of our sedentary hobbies as the reward for going out to exercise? The idea itself is a great one, and I’ve recently been working on said rewiring. It isn’t the easiest thing, however, but I will continue to try and let everyone know how I progress.

 

Any ideas? Suggestions? Opinions? – I’d definitely love some input!

 

PS: I WILL have that Jigglypuff/Wigglytuff tank! ❤

~ Britney

5 thoughts on “Geeks & Fitness

  1. I’ve been balancing my workouts with my work schedule. If I have a work day longer than 10 hours, I won’t make it to the gym. But, some days I get to have short 5 hour shifts, so, I tend to hit the gym on those days and days when I am not working. The one thing that has worked for me is to eat a light breakfast, then hit the gym right after to pretty much start my day. Then, I give myself the rest of the day to do whatever I want or need like laundry, Guild Wars 2….you know!

    – Whitney

  2. I do the whole, “Gaming is a reward” thing. I make sure I get out everyday to power walk (I don’t “do” running). I probably walk an hour a day. Also, when I clean I really clean. Proper cleaning is just as effective as a work out at the gym.
    Also, I avoid eating while gaming or any other activity, eating while you’re doing something else stops you from feeling sated and you eat a lot more because you’re not really aware of everything that you’re eating. Thats why its so easy to watch a film for instance, and get through entire bags of chocolate and crisps.
    Gaming also causes adrenaline to run through your body like you are running, this makes you crave sugary/fatty food which is super helpful if you are running, definitely not helpful if you are sedentary gaming, I highly recommend whole grain carbs and protein for gaming days, not only will this help your reaction times in gaming because your blood sugar will be level, it will also help curb cravings.

    • Good advice! I’ll keep this in mind as I go from day to day. I’m also starting a walking regimen, but one that helps transition me from walking to running over a long period of time. Gradual is always good with me. 🙂 I’m not a runner myself, but I want to test the waters and see if its for me. If not, I’ll probably stick to walking.

      Thanks for the comment and advice!

      – Britney

  3. Hi! I found you through the anime tag and we have such similar names I had to see your other posts.

    I think if you want to stay fit, you have to make fitness and nutrition a hobby as much as video games or anime. I sort of make it a bigger hobby of mine by watching documentaries on nutrition and the lack of it in the average North American diet. I’m really interested in how so many of us end up struggling with weight and the impacts of it on society. I also recently started the Couch to 5k running schedule, there’s a couple free apps on the Apple store that can get you started with running.

    I’d like to try weights too but they sort of scare me, I need someone to teach me how to use them bit I need it to be another girl, I feel like a guy would be like “this is how a man does it” sort of thing haha.

    • Hi there! I’m glad you found us! 😀 We are definitely trying to connect with other girls like us.

      I have to say I agree with you. Fitness has to be on the same level of importance as our geeky hobbies, or even more so for us geeky/nerdy peeps to be fit. It doesn’t make the decision any easier, but I think it helps.

      Great to hear that you started the couch to 5k schedule. For me, it’s just about getting into the routine first and then working from there. That’s my nemesis: Getting into routine. As for weights, I’m the same way. I don’t want to go weight lifting with a guy. They obviously are built more for that and so rarely are we, as girls, on the same level. It’s just more appropriate to learn from and work out with other girls!

      Thanks for the comment, and I’m looking forward to exploring your blog and interacting more with you!

      – Britney

Leave a Reply

