Recent Novel Reads

perks2

I haven’t read actual books in awhile as I’ve been reading mostly manga as of late but as fate would have it I’ve been having extra time in the morning before work so I decided to make two purchases one being The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky and the second being Looking for Alaska by John Green. I’m going to discuss The Perks of Being a Wallflower first.

I had been meaning to read this book for some time now I just never got around to it I kept seeing the previews for the movie and it seemed to have that “independent” feel to it that I love so much. I wanted to read the novel first before watching the movie so that I could truly experience it. I have only watched a movie before reading the book one time and that was back in high school my boyfriend took me to go see The Golden Compass and I fell in absolute love with it and had to have the book and was ecstatic when I found out it was a trilogy. So I got the books for Christmas that year and I was so upset when I read the book because of how marvelous and wondrous it was that I couldn’t believe how much the movie had been “disney-ed” up. I love the His Dark Materials trilogy it is one of my very favorites but I told myself I would never watch a movie before the novel again.

Sorry for that tangent. This is one of those books that you feel different after reading. That gives you hope for tomorrow. I related to Charlie in the sense of crying. I cry very easily and it’s something I used to hate about myself. You always know that one dad or grandfather that you’ve never seen cry except maybe once when something really happens. Something worth crying for. I wanted to be like that it seemed so beautiful to me. But I’m not that type of person and I’m alright with that now. I look at it that maybe I just feel things more that I love everything and everyone so much. So much that it overflows.

Everything about Charlie is beautiful. From just the way he feels walking home taking in the wind on your face and leaves falling and the way the air smells. It makes me happy that even though this is a novel that there are people who feel. I’m not saying that most people don’t feel because everyone does but this is different. These are the feelings that make you float that make your soul smile and choke you up. To quote American Beauty ” Sometimes there’s so much beauty in the world I feel like I can’t take it and my heart is just going to cave in.” Now I don’t know who he was writing to or that he was writing to anyone at all (as my boyfriend suggested) and I don’t think that it matters we all need to feel connected to someone or something and tell our hearts greatest wants and our story.

I feel this is relateable in the sense that we all have our Sam and Patrick at some point and time. That just like that you can meet extraordinary people.

You have to live with your soul wide open and love like you’ve never been hurt and trust like you’ve never been betrayed. There are bad people in this world don’t let them stifle you. At least you know that you’ve done what you can and that you’re a good person. This isn’t an in depth review. Just my feelings.

perks3

I read this novel directly after reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower so I was already quite emotional and then this hit me like a ton of bricks. It’s one of those you kind of want to chuck across the room and scream WHYYY but it’s real. These things happen and you can’t stop them. You have to pick up the pieces of what was your life and keep going remembering their smile the way they talked and carried themselves. I don’t have much to say on this one except that it made me feel. It made me feel alive.

perks

I drew this for Alaska right after I read one of my favorite of many quotes.

” I wanted so badly to lie down next to her on the couch, to wrap my arms around her and sleep. Not fuck, like in those movies. Not even have sex. Just sleep together in the most innocent sense of the phrase. But I lacked the courage and she had a boyfriend and I was gawky and she was gorgeous and I was hopelessly boring and she was endlessly fascinating. So I walked back to my room and collapsed on the bottom bunk, thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was hurricane.”

Thank you for reading-Kelly

One thought on “Recent Novel Reads

  1. Pingback: We have another problem… | The Charlie Bone Blog

Leave a Reply

