Geek Love

Image

Geeks and their relationships are something that I’ve mulled over quite a bit. Being a geek and also not so geeky has allowed me to date a lot of different types of guys. I’ve dated a lot of guys with different interests, hobbies, and lifestyles. This has led me to a particular conclusion.

Geeks should date geeks.

At the very least they should date those who are partially geeky in some sense. Being a geek really is a lifestyle choice. Your hobbies are generally a huge part of your life, and so it is best to be with someone that can at least relate to that or is into the same things.

I have successfully been in a relationship with someone who was very barely geeky. It was nice and I was happy for a time, but in the long run I found that we didn’t relate on a pretty large part of my life.

Think of an individual that is very much into fitness. They spend a good deal of their time and days going to the gym, biking, or running. They would most certainly need to be with someone that could relate to that, if not go out and exercise with them. It is a lifestyle choice that takes up time, and could potentially separate them from a partner that isn’t so much into fitness. I believe the same thing applies to geeks.

I’m sure us geeks have all been in that situation. You’re seeing someone. Sure, they’re attractive and so nice, but when you reference one of your favorite books, games, or movies they just don’t get the joke. Their eyes glaze over as they just blatantly stare at you wondering what in the world you’re talking about. You laugh it off and move on usually, but what it weren’t like that? What if the person lit up, understood, and could make a remark right back? That’s just something else.Β  πŸ™‚

Let me know what you think of my theory! I’m sure it doesn’t apply to all geeks, and there just might be partners out there that can accept the geekier side of a person. For me, however, I most definitely need to date someone who can relate to many parts of my personality and life.

Β 

Britney

5 thoughts on “Geek Love

  1. I have to agree with this. I haven’t dated much and I have yet to find a guy who is worth being in a relationship with, but I think having some similar interests you share with another person is important. I don’t think I can see myself in a relationship with a guy who isn’t into books, movies, video games, etc. There has to be something the two of you can talk about with as much excitement and passion as you do. If there isn’t some kind of common ground, the relationship probably won’t work out.

    I also like having hobbies and interests I can share with a potential boyfriend. It’ll make date nights or staying in at home to play a game or read together much more fun. At least that’s my ideal. πŸ™‚

    • You should always strive to find your ideal, no matter how impossible it may seem. πŸ™‚

      I truly believe that sharing multiple interests is very important to geeks and their relationships. We live through our interests a lot more than most people. That is what makes us geeks, our passionate hobbies!

      And no date is better than geek dates! Haha. Video game night, or just reading next to each other. I couldn’t imagine better nights. Thanks for commenting!

      – Britney

  2. Pingback: We’re all geeks. | Some Call Me Bob

  3. I used to joke that I could never see myself with someone long term if they didn’t read (and love) lord of the rings. I dated a few guys who didn’t, but it never lasted. Now I am dating a guy who loves and appreciates LotR and it’s amazing! So I definitely agree. We play magic together and board games and its always a blast. I couldn’t imagine better quality time together than sharing our hobbies πŸ™‚

    • That’s great! πŸ˜€ I’m glad you did find someone. It definitely shows that it is possible to find someone you mesh with on that level. There is a perfect geek out there for all of us. ;D Thanks for commenting!

      – Britney

Leave a Reply

