My Pets are my Children

I have a story to tell!

But first, I want to start off this post by telling you a little about my pets. Let me say right off the bat that I am a huge animal person. If I didn’t live in an apartment, I would literally try to own a zoo’s worth of pets. I’ve owned horses, goats, dogs, cats, lizards, birds, fish, hamsters, gerbils, rats, and the list goes on..

My current “children” include two and a half cats (Remember Loki? Yeah, he’s only half) and a dog. My first indoor cat that I adopted five years ago is my calico, Iris.

Image

I really couldn’t live without this beautiful kitty. She is my world and she has been with me through the most trying times of my life thus far. She comes when I call her by name, she lays on my tummy and purrs when I have a stomach ache, she rubs and licks me to death if I’m crying. I love her.

Le’ second kitty is my chubby tuxedo. Her name is Luna. She is about 2 years old, and is the polar opposite of Iris. Yet, I still love her. I appreciate her affection more because it comes less often but is just as sweet.

Image

Third is the half-kitty. Well, he’s more like a third of a kitty. That would be Loki, the tiny mischief maker I am looking after until I give him to my brother and his fiance.

Image

And last but not least is the pup. Her name is Raven. She is a hound/shepherd mix, and the best mutt ever. She’s very smart and has made a wonderful apartment dog despite her size.

Image

This all brings me to the story that I mentioned above.

This past weekend, I traveled out to my parents’ house to celebrate my brother’s birthday with my family. I prepared everything like I normally do before I leave. I cleaned the litter box, gave them plenty of food, made sure they had water.. Needless to say, Raven and the little Loki went with me. Anywho, everything was packed and ready to go. So.. I left.

The weekend was wonderfully relaxing. We had BBQ, shot the shit, and had a few drinks. Sunday was even more so because I took the first nap I’ve had in ages. I pretty much took my time and was in no particular rush to return to the city. (My parents live in the sticks. <3)

Still, I had to come back sometime. Skipping all the inbetween, I got home and headed up to unlock the door to my apartment. Now typically, Iris is the first one at the door meowing her head off happily that I am home.

But, no happy meowing. I went inside and I think I didn’t notice at first. Then as I set all my stuff down, I looked for my two kitties to say hello. Luna was easy to spot, but no Iris.

I called for her, but no reply. I looked for her, but couldn’t find her. I flew into immediate panic mode with eyes full of tears. I searched everywhere, but she wasn’t there!

Then a long night of pacing up and down our apartment complex ensued, calling for her. I could not stop the tears, and I am not the type to let ANYONE see me cry. But Iris is my baby. It was as if I had lost my own child.

When searching didn’t work, we made flyers. We put them up all over the complex and around the surrounding two blocks. Last night, I couldn’t stay inside. I kept going to balcony and calling for her like every ten minutes. I was distraught; extremely distraught. Tears were commonplace, and by then my eyes were so puffy and my nose so red.

We didn’t find her last night. I went to bed feeling very empty and upset, and woke up this morning feeling the same way. I was having one of two emotions. 1.) Extremely upset and crying. 2.) In complete disbelief.

I went outside a few times this morning and called for her, but nothing. I didn’t expect much. By then, I figured that someone had to have taken her in. She’s pretty and friendly. Why not? Still, I’m not sure which is worse: Someone taking her in and never returning her, or her running loose on the streets.

So I came back inside, cleaned up, and took trash out. While I was outside, I called a couple times but didn’t expect much. I walked over to the dumpster and tossed the trash in and just as I turned to head back inside, I SAW HER!!! She was running up the side of the building toward me! She came back!

I’m such a tough cookie, but I burst into tears when I called her name and she meowed back.

I couldn’t be happier or more thankful this morning to have her back. My pets are my children. They are everything to me, and I would do anything for them.

* Anyone have a similar story to share? Or even pictures of your “children”? I would love to hear and see them, so please feel free.

Britney

2 thoughts on “My Pets are my Children

Leave a Reply

