Geeky vs Nerdy vs Girly

Image

My primary vision for this blog is to discuss and share various things that are geeky, girly, and both at the same time. I have noticed that there is a stereotype for geeky girls that includes anything from being unclean to having an unhealthy obsession, and part of my mission is to show that you cannot fit a geek into any particular mold.

Why?

First I’d like to look at the difference between Geeks and Nerds. When I was growing up, the two words were used interchangeably. I thought they were the same thing!

Wrong!

“Nerd” is generally not a positive nickname at all. It was first used by Dr. Seuss in the line, “A nerkle, a nerd, and a seersucker too!” In other words, the connotation is of an annoying, unattractive individual who may be brilliant but is not social. They prefer solitary pursuits and hobbies.

Nerds: Not socially inclined, brilliant, and more introverted.

A “Geek” is an individual that is very passionate and knowledgeable of one or many subjects almost to the point of obsession. They enjoy interacting with others and discussing these subjects (or not), especially those with the same interests. In fact, you may not know about their geekery unless they tell you!

Geeks: Passionate about particular things, and generally social.

So we find that the Nerds go on to be rocket scientists, and the Geeks just hold onto their passions no matter what career they choose. Keeping that in mind, Geeks are often considered weirdo’s or immature because of what passions they keep.

Let me be the first to admit that I’m a geek, professional, and girly girl. My name is Britney, and often times you wouldn’t even guess that I:

  • Play video games,
  • Read fantasy and sci-fi fiction
  • Watch anime
  • Read manga
  • Draw
  • Collect various geeky merchandise that can be found anywhere from on my shirt, desk, purse, and car!

 

-And-

  • Wear make-up
  • Paint my nails
  • Wear dresses
  • Enjoy sparkly things
  • Love fashion
  • Live for shopping

There you have it. I am here to reach out to all of the geeks, the girly girls, and those of us that are both and more!

PS: My co-blogger, Kelly, will be introducing herself in just a few days! Stay tuned. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Geeky vs Nerdy vs Girly

  1. I may not have made this clear, but I’m glad you stumbled onto my blog so that I can stumble upon your new blog! πŸ™‚ Everything you described in your introductory post is exactly how I would describe myself. I’m a professional, a girly girl, and a geek. No one at work would ever suspect me liking all the things we love and geek out over.

    I also agree that the preconceived notions of what a geek or even a nerd looks like is very flawed. We come in all different shapes, sizes, and appearances. You can’t judge one from the other. What we do have in common is the love we feel for being a geek.

    I look forward to seeing more from this blog! It’s time to show the world that there is such a thing as a girly geek. πŸ˜€

    • Thank you so much! I was so happy to read this post, you have no idea. I am doing exactly what I set out to do, and that was to reach more girls like us.

      And so.. we shall show them! I really want this blog to be even bigger than it is. I want to reach so many more girls. Geeky girls that think they can’t be girly, or even girly girls that think they can’t be geeky. Pooh on that! It is possible. πŸ˜€

      – Britney

Leave a Reply

